First Baja 1000 – 27 Hours to La Paz

Baja 1000 is an off-road race that takes place on Mexico’s Baja California Peninsula in November. The Baja 1000 is part of the SCORE Championship Desert Racing Series that include the Baja 500, San Felipe 250 and the new San Felipe Challenge of Champions in place of the Primm 300 which had been the only SCORE race in the United States. The Baja 1000 allows various types of vehicle classes to compete on the same course Рfrom such small and large bore motorcycles, stock VW, production vehicles, buggies, trucks and custom fabricates race vehicles. The course has remained relatively the same of the years with the majority of events being either a point-to-point race from Ensenada to La Paz, or a loop race starting and finishing in Ensenada.

The first official race started in Tijuana, Baja California, on October 31, 1967 and NORRA Mexican 1000 Rally. The course length that year was 849 miles (1,366km) and ended in La Paz, Baja California Sur, with the overall winning time of 27 hours 38 minutes (27:38) set by Vic Wilson and Ted Mangels while driving a Meyers Manx buggy.